The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293

Quickie Review: 4/5 Stars on GoodReads.
Loved the plot, side plot, the characters and the love interests. Reminded me quite a lot of The Hunger Games (which I’m not a big fan of – sorry!). Only took me two days to read which is impressive for me and proves it’s a quick read. I love the book cover SO much! >.< I like the name of ‘Illea’, how do y’all pronounce it? I say it like ‘E-lay’.

Plot:
A girl named America is a Five and lives in a time after the 4th World War and it is where the One’s are the top, royalty, and the Eights are the poor, homeless people pretty much, so she’s below average in her and her family rank. One day she receives a letter where the Prince of Illea is ready to find a wife and every girl between the ages of 16 and (I think) 24 are eligible to be one of the 35 selected to be in the running to be his wife.

Characters:
America – Love! So strong, not girly, doesn’t realise her good points herself, puts herself down, when she called him ‘Maxon’ on TV xD I died laughing!!
Maxon – Caring, sweet, persuaded me to like him (as I didn’t in the beginning). Loved when he said he’d hurt the guy who hurt America! He turned out to be the guy I didn’t think he was going to be. I was expecting a proper bastard but he turned out to be a right sweetheart ❤
Aspen – hard working, cares, a little naïve ‘she fell’ sure she fell Aspen (you guys who’ve read it should know what I mean there haha) and finally I completely understand why he went slightly mental at her.
The Girls: Marlee – sweetheart but what is her secret?! Celeste – whatta beech tree! I hate her so much! -_- and I can’t believe she ruined the dresses (two people’s!).

Similarities to The Hunger Games:
I guess the coming notes are what makes a book classified as a dystopian then. War, famine, ‘districts’, widdling down to one winner, gets a better life after winning (though some that are just selected get a better life if they were previously a low caste), I fell the main training woman is similar to Effie Trinket (I think that’s he name in HG, if not, where the hell did I get that name from?! xD), the send-off as they go to The Selection; very HG-like, two lovers/two love interests, getting makeovers before competing, Maxon is honest like Peta when it comes to feelings and America’s songbird necklace immediately reminded me of Katniss’ MockingJay brooch.

(Similarities to) Other:
The fact that America is covered in Vanilla lotion and stuff reminded me of the WarPrize series and the MakeOver part reminded me of that Anne Hathaway Princess (Diaries?) film. Also it’s very ‘The Barchelor’ (tv show).

Negatives:
I really hate the fact that the word ‘sex’ in explicitly said. People reading these books are (or should) be 14 years and older and are therefore old enough to have to word said in a book to them. Seems childish to go round and about on the word. Also I wish Aspen hadn’t turned up cos it’s made me all confused as to who’s team I’m on! =S I’m annoy Maxon couldn’t see through Celeste’s fake act and see how much of a bitch she is and get rid of her, regardless of the fact that her family is a good link. Final negative, the first night where America has like a panic attack and is gasping for air and her balcony isn’t good enough, WAY over-dramatic and silly and unnecessary (but necessary in plot of course).

Final Note and Questions:
My theory is that the history of Illea is taught verbally for a reason and the rebels are raiding the castle in order to find the item that unlocks the secrets of the history of Illea. Whose side are you on? Team Maxon or Team Aspen? I’m currently Team Aspen I think! xD

Leave a Reply

