The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Image

 

Quickie Review: 5/5 on GoodReads.
I am a big J.R.R.Tolkien fan and I love anything he writes/wrote and it was great to go back and reread A. a classic and B. a book I read quiet a few times as a child. And this book did not fail and I loved the story, the characters (bar one moment), the writing style and it is just an overall epic, timeless and enjoyable high fantasy read!

Plot:
Bilbo Baggins (a hobbit) is very content with his quiet, pleasant, unadventurous life until one day Gandalf, a wizard, along with 13 Dwarves turn up at his doorstep and literally push him into an epic adventure filled with trolls, orcs, giant eagles, elves and not forgetting a giant dragon!

Characters:
I won’t mention them all but I feel some should be mentioned.
Bilbo Baggins – his transformation throughout the book is amazing! He starts off grumpy and being really against the adventure to someone with confidence in himself and being able to trust more, to think for himself more and ultimately, even though he does want to get home, enjoying the adventure he is on.
Thorin – Dwarf, the King Under the Mountain! Or so he tries to be. Thorin is very mighty and very wise but also very stubborn at the same time. He can be corrupted by gold easily and there is a moment towards the end of the book where a reader can seriously turn into disliking him (like I did) because of his stubbornness but besides that a great, strong character!
Gandalf – Gandalf is very mysterious and very odd (compared to how I remember him in the LOTR books) and he spends a lot of time away, dealing with other things that are not mentioned in the book (which the films fill in beautifully by the way!) but nevertheless he is a great character and a strong one also. I also loved towards the end (when there was like a clash between Men and Elves vs Dwarves) what side he choose to be on and didn’t directly say ‘you’re on the wrong side’ but also at the same time, his presence is so great and important that even the readers know, without him saying, that Gandalf is (pretty much) always right. I love him!
Beorn – Beorn I feel gets more time and more care in the books than in the film and I loved the role he played in this book, especially when the Company are first with him and they don’t see him for about 2 days and the tale of where he’d been and what he’d been doing I really enjoyed. And I can’t imagine him as a scary bear at all but a great, big, fluffy, cuddly one!

Extended Review:
As mentioned earlier this book did not fail in my expectations and in fact I have founder and better thoughts on the book now, especially now that I am older and can love it for not just it’s story now. I loved the story naturally; it’s just adventure after adventure and event after event and never a dull moment! I love the writing style – I love Tolkien’s long descriptions (which are very famous is The Lord of the Rings and tends to be a big reason why people can’t read the books or any of his books) and while they’re weren’t in this book, I did find something else of his writing style that I loved; the only way I can describe it is the richness in the words that he selected to describe things and the words he uses in similes are just perfection. Some loved sections of mine are:

shower of arrows, and each flickered as it fled as if with stinging fire – (kindle) page 284
gleamed like gold in a dying fire – (kindle) page 285

Just a lot of magical words to read as well as magical things happening in the story.

Negatives:
Only two negatives and one is just because of a character and one is an actual story gripe I have. The character gripe I have has already been mentioned and that was the one moment where Thorin is very stubborn and very annoying, and the actual story gripe is; I wish the dragon battle scene had been longer; I feel it ended a bit too soon for my liking. But besides that, I really do not have any negatives about it! So highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

