Top 10 Tuesday!

Image

This weeks topic: Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play etc. brought and created by The Broke and The Bookish.

Now I wouldn’t call myself an avid bookreader, nor would I saw my knowledge of books is good, nor would I say I’ve read enough (goodreads here) to do this weeks’ Top Ten with confidence, but alas here I try! Here are my:

Top Ten Books If You Like The Lord of the Rings
(the movies)

‘The Lord of the Rings’ (the movies) was action-packed, filled with magical creatures and beings, high-epic battles, strong friendships, amazing adventures (good and bad) and a large cast of characters. So I will be looking for these things in order to come up with my Top Ten =] Okay!

Image

1. I’m just going to throw it straight out there; Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling. While for a lot of people it’s ‘I love Harry Potter but hated The Lord of the Rings,’ or ‘I loved The Lord of the Rings but hated Harry Potter,’ I fortunately love both almost just as equally, both books and movies! So if you’re anything like me and love fantasy, epic fantasy, mystical beasts, magic, adventure then this (and The Lord of the Rings) could be for you!

Image

2. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. This is more similar to Harry Potter than The Lord of the Rings I’m afraid but it does feature a large cast, magical creatures and beings, rather large battles, strong friendships with matches those traits of The Lord of the Rings, and just happens to have Greek mythology (could be like Tolkien mythology no?) and a young adult target audience.

Image

3. Eragon by Christopher Palini – yes, yes this is still YA, but closer to LoTR than the others mentioned before; it’s got dragons, epic-battles, magical creatures and beings, a big cast and in a totally made-up land and earth just like Middle Earth! I do warn you though; never attempt the movie please, the book is a billion times better.

Image

4. Now where would Tolkien be without C.S.Lewis. They were in the same writing group together, so naturally they must have similarities right? The Chronicles of Narnia is (again, unfortunately) centered around children but is in it’s own magical land with various creatures and an array of characters. Compared to Peter Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings though, The Chronicles of Narnia could be considered less epic and more simple. But there’s not harm there right?

Image

5. I think Terry Pratchett does well what could be seen in the LoTR movies; sarcasm. Pratchett’s Disworld series is not only hilarious with sarcasm (quite like Gimli and Legolas was in the films) but also so many things are constantly going on with so many characters and each book is one interesting and epic adventure! (pssh! My favourite so far is Mort. It’s kinda like if Ringwraith’s had feelings xD).

Image

6. I’ll try and stop the YA and children books, I promise! (But like I said, my knowledge is small!) His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman is both epic and filled with a mighty big cast, awesome, peculiar animals and has a friendship so strong, it even passes through parallel universes! I remember these books being so epic and amazing and very easy to imagine (thanks to Pullmans writing!) — now I wanna re-read them! They might not be everyone’s cup of tea and aren’t really that similar to LoTR in terms of scale and epic-fighting and whatnot but I still feel like they bear some similarity.

Image

7. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. If you love epic fantasy books, you’re sure to have already read him, right? Well this is an epic fantasy about a group of people trying to overthrow the evil lord (similar to the Fellowship trying to destroy the One Ring and Sauron right?), along with the help of metal magic (I know there’s a fancy word for it!). While there are no real ‘epic travelling to the other side of the world’ to complete the mission, nor epic creatures (that I’ve read of yet) this book is just so fast paced and adventurous and never a dull moment with a lot of interesting characters (AND a kick-ass female lead with is different to LoTR but o well. She’s the underdog, like the hobbits were! =]) Btw, this has to be my favourite book ever – I know! It might even be beating The Hobbit for me! o_O

Image

8. The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Now this is the only book featured that I haven’t even bought, let alone read! But from what I have heard about it; it’s just as epic (better be seen as it spans 14 books!) as LoTR. << if that doesn’t persuade you then just read a little of the synopsis (thanks goodreads!): The Wheel of Time turns and Ages (like the 3rd AGE of Middle Earth?) come and go, leaving memories (memories become legend, legend become myth and for 2 and a half thousan years the ring passed out of all knowledge?) that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age (of Middle Earth?!), an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance (You can do it Frodo Baggins! You’re their only hope!). What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow (Of Sauron?!). Wow, reading that… sounds like an exact copy of LoTR?! o_O Gunna have to read it to find out right? xD Also there appears to be a quote on the book cover I chose, it says: Jordan has come to dominate the world that Tolkien began to reveal – The New York Times. Do you really need any more convincing?

Image

9. Did you think I was going to miss this off? Of course not! A Game of Thrones is what LoTR would have been if Tolkien and Peter Jackson had drank all the time and were a little less sound in the mind! Filled with an epic land with dragons and a billion characters who you’ll get mixed up with time and time again (believe me, George R R Martin rings up certain people to ask where and what house his characters belong to sometimes!) and also epic battles! To top it off, there’s interesting (for once) politics! Though do be warned, definitely an adult pick as it is filled with all the stuff LoTR missed out kindly; sex, rape, under-age, foul language etc. It’s like if LoTR was a reality show, maybe? I just made it sound worse…. George has R.R just like Tolkien?

Image

10. And of course! Where wouldn’t we be without The Hobbit ❤ J. R.R. Tolkien’s book that started off Middle Earth and ended up bring us to The Lord of the Rings and so many other amazing books in the same world ❤ It’s got elves, dwaves, dragons, amazing adventures, just basically everything I mentioned before starting the countdown! And it’s not a heavy lexical wise so even children can read it! (well it was designed for children in the first place xD).

And those were my Top Ten Tuesday picks!! What did you think? Have you done today’s Top Ten? What do you think was missing from this list that should’ve been there? Let me know below!

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

