The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Image

Quickie Review: 3/5 on GoodReads.
Didn’t enjoy this one as much as the first story but I think that was my own fault of taking 3 months to read it! But overall a mysterious and fun read! Also, I loved Watson’s growth. Overall, very mysterious, fun, great to see Sherlock and Watson again. The crime itself was very interesting and the story at the end (the killer always tells a story it seems) was very interesting.

Plot:
A girl comes to Sherlock asking to find out about the mysterious presents she receives every year and who they are from. This leads to numerous murders and love.

Characters:
Sherlock Holmes – interesting and amusing as always! Though I was concerned for a moment that he could not figure the mystery out! Nevertheless he thought of something totally bizarre and was on the right path!
Doctor Watson – he has very much grown used to Sherlock and very much a fan and supporter of him! And I loved his development in terms of the love area.
Small (can’t remember his first name =/) – mysterious and a very clever character. I loved his story!

Negatives:
Didn’t enjoy this middle of this book compared to loving the entirety of the first story, but I think that was due to how long I stretched this book out. My only real negative is; I think because it’s a little dated there was leigh-way at the time to be a little racist but I feel that was more of ‘that’s what the character thinks and that’s their personality’. Overall, another fun Sherlock read!

Leave a Reply

