The Chocolate Book Tag

Image

I was tagged by the lovely Amanda’s Nose in a Book (post here)! Let’s start shall we?

Dark Chocolate: A book that covers a dark topic. (abuse, domestic violence, rape, loneliness, bullying, death etc):

It turns out I have a lot of books that have these themes now and again (for example: (spoiler?) Perks of Being a Wallflower and Norwegian Wood etc. Hell I guess even the manga Death Note could be put here too with it’s main theme being about a book that can kill people and it does; thousands!) But a book that I think has one or more of these theme predominantly in the book is:

Image

I guess this is cheating as it’s a play but it’s very much about Hamlet and his depression and worry over existentialism. There is also a suicide. Overall it’s a dark but beautiful piece of art. If you want me to actual pick a book (that I’ve read) then I’d go for:

Image

Having a child murdered and then seeing her family suffer through it and also the constant tension of ‘Will the murderer finally get caught? Will there be justice?’ makes this book rather dark.

Honourable Mention:

Image It is a graphic novel and very messed up but entertaining at the same time! But not for the faint hearted!

White Chocolate: Your favorite light hearted/humorous read:

Trying to think of books that actual made me laugh out loud is hard… but lighthearted? I think I can find a book for that!

Image

It’s cute, it’s funny, it’s romantic! And while it might be a tough read for me, I found it delightful. Especially when I re-read it this year (I thought I’d made a review of it on here, turns out I didn’t o_O want one?), I was actually genuinely amused by some of the humour in this book. All-round, a lovely novel.

Milk Chocolate: A Book that Has a Lot of Hype that You’re Dying to Read

Now if you know me (which I assume you all do by now, if you don’t I don’t mind making a discussion post about it) I do not get on well with hyped books, particularly those on BookTube (we just don’t seem to work). But there are a few books (thanks to various blogs and a great honourable mention to the Sword & Laser bookclub) that have hype or high praise here and there and I cannot wait to get back to England and being able to buy it and devour it immediately! But I shall only pick one, of course, for now.

Image

It’s a kinda oldie but I’ve not seen one bad review and it’s a loved book amongst a lot of people and this was one of the first ‘influenced by the internet’ books that I decided I wanted to buy. And I will get to it! And I’m still very excited to read it – even though it hit my radar over a year ago.

Chocolate With a Caramel Center: Name a book that made you feel all gooey in the middle while you were reading it

I don’t tend to read romantic books so this one will be a hard one (or a cheat one)…

Image

It’s a manga aimed at girls so naturally it’s all romantic and the characters are sweet and the angst and happy ending etc. So yeah, I felt ‘gooey’ at times xD Told you I’d have to cheat! I honestly have no books that have made me gooey, and if I have (maybe Harry Potter or the last His Dark Materials book but) I haven’t read them in so long that I can’t remember my feelings that took place when I read them.

Water Free Kit Kat: Name a Book That Surprised You Lately

Well I haven’t read many books (that I’ve finished) lately now have I? xP

Image

This was a surprise for me for two reasons: 1. It was my first every short story collection book and 2. It reminded me that I do like Sci-Fi (I have this weird thing where I love Sci-Fi TV/Films but because I haven’t read nearly as many SF books, that I’m unsure of SF in books for me). But it also surprised me in that it made me realise that Fantasy is definitely my number one genre with SF making second (most likely).

Snickers: A Book That You Are Going Nuts About

Image

Now I realise I’m still reading this book (and haven’t read a page of it in months but shh!) but this is such an amazing read! You get totally sucked in and it’s epic and yes it’s a big book but boy does it fly by! I freaking love it! AND it’s TV series ❤

Hot Chocolate With Cream and Marshmallows: What Book Would You Turn to for a Comforting Read?

I wish I had Hot Choc with cream and marshmallows right now….

Image

It’s just so easy for me to open up this book and start reading it ❤

Box of Chocolates: What series have you read that you feel has a wide variety and a little something for everyone?

I’m going to try and not pick the obvious Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. (This is gunna be hard – I haven’t read many series!)

Image

This trilogy! I read it as a child which means kids and adults can read it. It’s got action, adventure, friendship, romance, sometimes tough matters like saying goodbye to friends and such. It’s a fun read also which is important! I haven’t heard anyone besides my little sister (who I recommended it to) and my friend who have read this. So I recommend to all! Also, I need to re-read this trilogy…

I Tag:

CaughtReadHanded

Another Afterthought

Falling Down the Rabbit Hole

YA? Why Not?

Sorry if you’ve already done this tag xD If you have let me know!

4 thoughts on “The Chocolate Book Tag

  1. I read the Lies of Locke Lamora earlier this year and it was absolutely amazing! It is a chunky book, but I just could not put it down and I am planning on reading the second book in the series some time this summer!

Leave a Reply

