Top Ten Tuesday #17

Image

This Week’s Topic: Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read. This is basically going to be me labelling books that I see repeatedly on blogs and booktube… I would tell you if I intend on reading the books or not but that’d spoil the surprise?

1. The Fault in our Stars – let us just get this one out of the way shall we. EVERYONE recommends this book! Am I right?

The Fault in Our Stars

2. Cinder – Another series just everyone, obviously into YA, reads. It’s like a must! And I’ve heard a lot of positives about the series, but it ain’t done yet!

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

3. Cassandra Clare – Everyone’s already read these right, except me? xD I see both series everywhere too!

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1) Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

4. The Lux Series – I always hear people say; it’s not the best written but it’s definitely addictive, from both genders alike.

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

5. The Divergent Series – This and The Hunger Games seem to be the YA Dystopian ‘IT’ books xD

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

6. Shatter Me – Just same as before, everyone recommends it and has already appeared to have read it. Heard it’s heavy romance though, is that true?!

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

And now for some classics that really are pretty compulsory but I just ain’t gotten around to yet- sorry!

8. To Kill a Mockingbird – I hear A LOT about this book when I was in say High school and heard people saying it’s a must read book, but actually in the past 3/4 years I haven’t heard anything said about it! But I assume it’s still a must… right?

To Kill a Mockingbird

9. Catcher in the Rye – I have heard that this book is marmite = you either love it or you hate it. And that’s literally all I know about this book…

The Catcher in the Rye

10. 1984 – This book…. all I know is that it was one of the first dystopians and that it’s amazing! Also, if I am thinking of the right book, I read an excerpt of this during my time in High School, about Big Brother, and I absolutely loved it!

1984

So, any books here that I just must read ASAP? Link me to your lists also below!

Same Time, Next Week – for definite!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #17

  1. It’s terrible, but I haven’t read any of these yet! The more people shove them in my face, the further they get pushed to the end of my to-read list 😀 But I am looking forward to reading Cinder!

  2. You have so many good books on that list!! 1984 is my absolute fave book!!! To Kill A Mockingbird and Catcher in the Rye are great classics. Divergent (I finished all the books), Shatter Me (just have the last one to read), Cinder (read the first two) are wicked series so far. And TFIOS was super good. Read read read!! lol

    My TTT

  3. The Fault in Our Stars is really great but waay overrated. I was so hesitant to pick up Cinder but I liked it soo much, The Lunar Chronicles became one of my favorite series since then. Well, I don’t think The Lux series is badly written or anything but I did read the Hungarian translation and that always changes the writing and all a lot. By the way I’ve only read Obsidian yet. Shatter Me is on my list too, so many people seem to like it but for some reason I feel like that’s not my type of book. I loved The Catcher in the Rye and I really want to read To Kill a Mockingbird and 1984 too.

    Here’s my TTT: http://reading-is-dreaming-with-open-eyes.blogspot.com/2014/08/top-ten-books-people-have-been-telling.html

    • Shatter Me interests me because people say it’s good but also, and mainly because of, those covers!! But on the other hand, I hear it’s HEAVY on the romance, which isn’t my thing at all =/

  4. I read 1984 in high school for fun because I went through a big sci-fi phase. It’s powerful. I still get chills when I think about it. And there are lots of lessons regarding the darker side to humanity.

Leave a Reply

