Re-Reading Books?

Just wanted a small discussion with you guys today about re-reading books and giving 2nd chances…

Naturally I re-read my favourite books; Harry Potter, The Hobbit, A Series of Unfortunate Events etc. but what about books that you didn’t necessarily like but would consider giving a second chance to?

I have been thinking about this a lot recently. Especially with the books Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Noughts and Crosses and The 5th Wave, and here are my reasons:

– Daughter of Smoke and Bone – hated it after the plot took a 180 degree change but everyone raves about it, so was I just in the wrong mind set at the time? Don’t get my wrong, I adored the writing style and everything up to that point where it dramatically changes – you all know which point I’m talking about right?
– Noughts and Crosses – I remember loving this book, absolutely loving it, until the ending where I was like ‘I hated it! *throwns down* never reading again!’ and that was like 7 years ago! So I’m thinking maybe I should re-read it, especially seen as I can’t actually remember now all that happened, and again it’s another series people love, just the ending I really did not like.
– The 5th Wave – obviously the sequel is/has come out this weekend and I did actually like this book until about the last 100 pages where for some reason I got bored and I did not like it when the love interests were introduced and got rather romantic. But again, everyone loves this book and I enjoyed 80% of it too!

And whether I don’t re-read them or if I do and still don’t like them then they’re being unhauled and taken to charity anyway.

So what do you guys think? Should I give them another chance? What books do you normally re-read aka. your favourites to re-read? Do you ever give 2nd chances? Let me know in the comments below! =]

5 thoughts on “Re-Reading Books?

  1. I only reread favourites. It’s not like I don’t want to give second chances, it’s just that there are so many books out there to read! Since you’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone seven years ago, you might enjoy it more than you did then, but I haven’t read it so I don’t know if it’s worth it.

  2. I only reread books that I like, if I do not like them I don’t give them a second chance, I just delete them off my Kindle or donate them to Charity so someone else may get the chance to enjoy them. I would say reread Noughts and Crosses though. It is one of my favourite books, the ending is really sad I agree but ti’s a good book 😀

Leave a Reply

