The Rain by Virginia Bergin

OMG A YA NOVEL THAT I LIKE?! Well this is rare…

The Rain (The Rain, #1)

It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you.
They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.”
Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.
[GoodReads]

Quickie Review: 3.5 out of 5 Stars.

I absolutely loved the premise for this novel! And I love how it delivered in my expectations for the premise and loved how the story developed. I am going to be honest it scared me! And I swear to god, the day it rains here, I know I’ll be like ‘which world is it that has the killer rain?!’ because believe me, for some reason I found the science of it and the story so believable, that I was like ‘shiiiit, what if this is actually real! I haven’t seen or been in rain for a while!’ xD

The story was interesting and kept me interested and involved in terms of the characters and their lives.

The negatives are; when I wasn’t reading it, I wasn’t thinking about it, so it didn’t have the wow factor that makes me give books 4.5/5 stars. Also, I felt that Ruby was very immature and naive for 15 years old – either that or I was a strangely mature 15 year old! – but sometimes I would stop reading and think ‘was I that immature when I was 15? Did I think those things when I was 15? Was make up and boys really that important when I was 15?’ and my main thought was ‘how would I have coped at 15’ and to be honest; don’t think I could have! So she is brave and intelligent as well, which is a plus!

Overall, I really enjoyed the book and took my time with it to enjoy it. I highly anticipate the next installment!

Leave a Reply

