The Demon by Sarra Cannon

The Demon: Episode 1 (Sacrifice Me, #1)

Quickie Review: 2.75 out of 5 stars.

The Positives: Everyone is getting to stage of ‘omg can we get over vampires already?!’ and in fact we’ve been in this stage for a while; luckily for this story, we don’t really run into any ‘bad’ vampires in the sense of A. they don’t sparkle and B. it feels like they aren’t good vampires. So off to a good start! The next good this about this story is the way the plot is brought out; starts off simple and as we go along mystery upon mystery and question upon question starts to trickle in but it’s not like a load together which is a nice pace. Speaking of pace; I liked the pace of it; not too slow, not too fast, but maybe just a tad slow. The characters I liked and very intriguing! I really liked how the story ended and left me hanging and wanting to know more!

The Negative: That cover for starters xD and as mentioned already, the pacing I felt was a little slow, but only at the action part. There were quite a few cheesy lines and stereotypical vampire/erotica lines in there that did make me laugh, for example:

The territorial claim of his eyes on my body.
I gasped for breath.
I hated that one tiny touch of his skin against mine could tilt my entire world on its axis.

Finally, the main character did annoy me a bit; like she’s 21 years old but still acting like she’s 15 years old. Maybe it is because what she’s been through but no need to be all emo and ‘I’ve been on my own for so many years why should it matter now blah blah whine whine’ but luckily it wasn’t overboard so I could cope with it but I just felt [being 21 myself] that she was very immature compared to me, maybe [like I said during my The Rain review] I’m more mature for my age?

Continue? If I ever have a breather from my massive TBR or it’s like practically non-existent, I think I’ll carry on this series =]

2 thoughts on “The Demon by Sarra Cannon

Leave a Reply

