Picking Names [NaNoWriMo]

As you all know, I settled on an idea and got my plot structure sorted!

Woo, so you’re ready to go then Alex?
Unfortunately for me; creating the plot and story structure is the easiest part for me to do every time.

Here I am in (probably) the most difficult part for me personally; names. Whether it’s a character’s name, name of a city, name of a creature etc. I have so much difficulty choosing names, and even after choosing a name; most of the time I feel it either doesn’t match my character or I think ‘when someone reads this, they’ll think ‘what a shitty name!” and so this is probably where I feel my most stress.

Especially seen as this time I am writing a fantasy, and fantasies are known to feature characters with unique and very uncommon names.

So I would like to ask you all; how do you go about name characters/places/things?

And to add to that – as my story is a fantasy; I have to technically world build a lot. And I am having trouble thinking of names in terms of; can I get through this story without having to specific what time, what planet, what country these characters are in? Can I just get away with mentioning and describing the places they are in and travel to without getting into a massive scale world building project? What do you guys think?

Thank you for reading!!

One thought on “Picking Names [NaNoWriMo]

Leave a Reply

