Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies, #1)

Quickie  Review: 3/5 Stars on GoodReads.

This was an okay read for me. It had hit and miss for me but onto the positives!

I enjoyed the characters and theirs stories (Perry was very interesting) and I really loved R’s character development and Julie’s dad was very fascinating in his short but enjoyable moments he got. The journey and the action I also enjoyed – especially the last 40 pages or so were crazy and very interesting!

However, I did have a few problems with it. One problem was that it was written in the present yet R spoke so articulately and it wasn’t explained if or why zombies were able to be 100% full functioning inside their brains but in movement and speech be completely zombie like. They were no explanation as to why R was able to be so poetic to the reader yet be a zombie – who usually are only suppose think of eating people for food – at the same time. I also didn’t like the lack of explanation as to how the change was happening within the zombie group and why only some were changing. Like there was talk of ‘she’s the only changes us! The change happened because of you’ and at one point Julie is like ‘I think I know why they’re changing’ and then (instead of actually explaining and in scientific terms like I thought she would), so goes all poetic and says ‘they’ve managed to climb out of this black hole that humanity created blah blah blah’ and it’s like ‘you didn’t explain anything there! You just spoke in fairytale words!’. Finally, I’m not a romance people (this book confirmed it!) so the romance between R and Julie just didn’t interest me, which is a major part of the book – and I knew going in it was going to be a romance between a zombie and a human.

But it was overall a good read. Still look forward to seeing the film! =]

Leave a Reply

