Top Ten Tuesday #25

Image

This Week’s Theme: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014 – this one is rather easy as I read a lot of ARCs and freebies this year and I can’t really remember reading any authors I had previously read but read also this year besides my usual manga, Tolkien and Jane Austen. Let’s get on with it! ^_^

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

1. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – finally got into Sherlock and the stories have not disappointed me so far! ^^

The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

2. Jennifer Mathieu – very much enjoyed her debut novel and will probably keep an eye on what she brings out in the future.

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

3. Takami Koushun – I was naturally going to like this because I love the movie(s) but this went way beyond the movies and was absolutely amazing! I’ll definitely be getting this novel in Japanese when I go back to Japan and see if he has any other works that interest me. The translation was a bit iffy but that isn’t the authors fault and I did read the older translation.

Thief's Magic by Trudi Canavan

4. Trudi Canavan – she’s been around for many years and is one of the queens of fantasy and I finally read one of her books this year and loved it (minus the religion aspect xD) and cannot wait for the sequel in 2015!

Snow White Blood Red by Cameron Jace

5. Cameron Jace – I never expected myself to become a fan of self-published authors but this person defied that. Only read three novellas so far by this author but I will definitely be carrying on!

The Rain by Virginia Bergin

6. Virginia Bergin – when I first got this book, I thought ‘YA? Hate it. Dystopian? Hate it. Love triangle? Better bloody not be!’ but I began reading it none the less and I absolutely loved it! It shocked me and maybe me rethink giving YA and dystopian books another chance =] Again, cannot wait for the sequel!

And that’s it! I didn’t want to just have a list of new authors to me. I wanted it to be a list of books I loved as well as they happen to be authors I haven’t read before so it became a list of 6 xD 

Any authors you recommend to me? Any here that you’ve also read? Let me know in the comments below or link me to your TTT! ^_^

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #25

  1. I’ve only read one Doyle and that’s the first Sherlock Holmes. I can see how he could become very addictive!

    I’d love to have you stop by and take a look atmy list!

Leave a Reply

