The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

Two reviews in one week?! I am on a roll with reading – and my Christmas holidays start today so expect more, maybe?

22521286

Quickie Review: 3 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.

It’s fast paced, action packed and does make your heart drop in worry a few times. I thoroughly enjoyed the characters, the plot and the mysteries and of course this new/rarely done magic was refreshing to learn about. And Fennel was such a cutie. The writing was easy to read as well as had an old English feeL about it which I also enjoyed.

There was one quote that really resonated with me;

in all gods, in all beliefs. When I think about it.. I guess I’ve just taken what bits and pieces I felt were right for me and made my own faith with them. Faith is a very personal thing, really. Just because you don’t meet with a group of people once a week who believe everything exactly the way you do doesn’t mean you don’t believe in something.

My negatives are; the repetition of characters biting their lips -_-, the romance (the story only took place over a month! Not to mention the ages), somethings that were mentioned didn’t seem to fit the early 20th century setting e.g. eating salami and using curling irons and I don’t feel like we got to know our main character enough =/ also the author got English education wrong making me think the author isn’t British because we finish high school at 16 and not 18 yet our character is 19 after graduating high school and only having a year at magic school?! *checks* yep the author is America so lack of research there!

Have you read this? What did you think? Let me know!

One thought on “The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

  1. I’ve been wanting to check this one out. I like unique takes on magic, so I’ll probably like that. I’m not British but spent a while in Scotland, so the lack of research would irritate me too. Now that I know about it though, I’ll be okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

