Top Ten Tuesday #26

Image

This Week’s Theme: Top Ten Books I Read In 2014 – this year hasn’t been filled with books I’ve loved inside out, but has been a steady year of ‘I liked this one, this one not so much’ and I pretty much had a 3 – 4 star scale this year with the odd really bad book (let’s not talk about Queen of the Tearling and MockinJay xD) so it was an okay year. I’m hoping next year picks up though and blasts my mind! But onto this year’s list:

top10201410

1. A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – my first Sherlock story and I loved it! I love the characters and the mystery and how it unfolds and the flashback we get at the end to justify the criminals motives and such!

2014-WotF-30-Bookcover.indd

2. Writer’s of the Future by L. Ron Hubbard – this was my second ever short story collection and I loved it! It had SF and Fantasy in it and from an array of authors (all talented!) and so with each story being different I got to travel so many great adventures all in one book.

top1020148

3. The Hobbit by J.R.R.Tolkien – Need I say anything about this book? The writing, the characters, the setting, the adventure ❤

top1020147

4. The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu – I rarely rarely rarely read contemporary so to read this and enjoy it to the extent I did is impressive. I love the difference POVs we got and how we didn’t get to hear from Alice until the very end and it had a great message about bullying and judging people and it felt very realist.

top1020146

5. Battle Royale by Takami Koushun – I love love love the film and this book somehow beat the film! This was bloody, thought provoking (minus the poor translation) and was absolutely amazing! I will definitely be rereading this when I get it in the new translated edition!

top1020145

6. And They Called Her Spider by Michael Coorlim – My first steampunk story which was wrapped in a crime mystery and it was fast paced, a lot of fun and if I ever get a breather, I’ll definitely  be reading more from this series!

top1020144

7. Snow White, Blood Red by Cameron Jace – I think this was another first for me in terms of my first fairytale retelling story and again loved it (why else would it make the list?!) and I am carrying on with the series and I love what the author has intertwined into the story and who links to who and the different take on the characters and the world and it’s great!

top1020143

8. Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan – She has been in the fantasy world for years and I finally read a book by her and wasn’t disappointed! I love the premise, the story, the adventure, the characters and I cannot wait for the sequel to be out in 2015!

top1020142

9. The Rain by Virginia Bergin – I was pleasantly surprised by this. I was intrudged by the premise of this story but as it was YA I didn’t have many high hopes for it… and I was surprised! It ended up loving the characters, the rain was terrifying, the action that went on was dangerous and risky and did actually leave me worrying for characters. Another I will be getting the sequel of when it comes out next year (2015)!

top1020141

10. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg – this was quick, fast paced and entertaining! It definitely has room to improve but I am very hopefully.

I have reviews for all these books on this blog so find and read them if you will ^_^

Let me know your top reads for 2014 in the comments below or link me to your TTT! ^_^

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #26

  1. I really enjoyed The Truth About Alice too. Not as much as I’d hoped, but I liked it.
    The Hobbit – yes! Good choice. I love seeing how many people read it this year. I read The Hobbit when I was in middle school, I think, so it’s cool to see people are still finding it and loving it.
    My TTT!

  2. ‘m sorry to hear this wasn’t a fantastic reading year for you. I haven’t read Sherlock Holmes in ages! I did just reread the Hobbit last year though. 🙂 I hadn’t heard of Thief’s Magic, but it sounds good. Paper Magician is just sitting on my Kindle. Nice list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

