2014 Bookish Resolutions Check-Out

Let us review my year of book reading shall we?

2014 Bookish Goals That were made at the beginning of 2014.

  1. GoodReads Goal of 48 Books
  2. 12 Re-Reads
  3. Finish 5 Manga Series
  4. Read 2 Japanese Books
  5. Finish 4 Series
  6. Write a novel in 365 days = 365 pages
  7. Start a booktube
  8. Read more books compared to 2013 that aren’t manga.

2014 End-of-Year Check:

  1. Throughout the year it jumped around; to 24 (in April), 48 (July) and finally to 38 (October) [see here]. I am now at 45 books which means I have surpassed the April and October adjusted goals and was only 3 off my original goal! =] I am very happy with that!

2014 Reading Challenge

Book Breakdown:

  • Physical Books: 6
  • E-Books: 18
  • ARCS: 8
  • Manga/Comics: 13
  • Japanese: 0
  1. I failed at this and only managed 3 re-reads:
    Pride and Prejudice
    The Hobbit
    MockingJay
  2. This was one I really thought I could do but I kinda stopped reading manga for a while and only really marathoned it in one/two days obsessive bursts so couldn’t get any series finished. But I am still up-to-date on two manga so technically 2 completed?
    Kuroshitsuji
    Shingeki no Kyojin
  3. Another I thought I could honestly do; take 6 months to read one book each but uni got crazy and it’ll take 100s of hours for me to read one Japanese book so I didn’t even attempt to try =/
  4. Another I thought doable but alas was not. Finished 0 series.
  5. I did two NaNoWriMo’s (one lost, one won) and got a total of around 142 pages written which I think is pretty damn impressive and I’m happy with that regardless of not writing everyday and not reaching 365 pages xD
    Camp NaNoWriMo 2014; Swelting Hot – 25300 out of 25000 words = WON!
    NaNoWriMo 2014; Of Pork and Storms – 31947 out of 50000 words = LOST.
    Total of 57247 (so technically I won NaNoWriMo, no?)
  6. I did start one but it takes a lot of time and I’ve found I’m a better writer and ‘behind the scenes/keyboard’ sort of person rather than being the star in front of the camera so even though the booktube channel was not successful, I think we can all agree that this blog has been rather successful – agree?
  7. In 2013 I read 21 books that weren’t manga volumes or comic issues etc. And this year I have managed to read 32 books, which means I read more books this year than last!

Total number of resolutions completed: 2.5/8?

Now onto the two most exciting things! Best and Worst Books of 2014!

And my winners are:

Battle Royale by Koushun TakamiThief's Magic by Trudi Canavan

And my loser is:

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Happy New Year’s Eve!

2 thoughts on “2014 Bookish Resolutions Check-Out

    • Sorry for the late reply; Happy New Year!!
      Battle Royale is amazing isn’t it! I was so glad to find that both the film and the book are amazing pieces of art!
      I had a semi-good year, didn’t read as many amazing books as I have in the past but it wasn’t an awful year filled with 1 star after 1 star books which I class as a successful year! =]

Leave a Reply

