How We Define Genres?

This discussion idea came to me while I was watching a recent video by Benjamin of Tomes: Fantasy recommends. And it was interesting that he was classing things like The Young Elites and The Whispers of the Fallen as fantasy, whereas they were books I would’ve said were SF or Paranormal. So it got me thinking: How do you personally define what genre something is?

So first I thought I’d give a few things that make me ‘genre define’ a book:

Fantasy
Magic (system)
Dragons
(Most likely) Made-up land/world

SF
Science
Space(ships)
Computers/Technology
Robots
Futuristic

Superheroes
Abilities that isn’t magic/caused by something e.g. DNA.
Abilities created from illness/virus/genetic mutation

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic
World gone to shit
Nuclear (power/explosion)
Humanity (almost) dead
Lack of food/water/living/electricity

Paranormal/Supernatural
Vampires/Werewolves
Ghosts
Hunters
Cops fighting SPN crime

It’s not a very solid list but it’s a start of how I define a book in a genre.

What sort of things make you define a book in a particular genre?

2 thoughts on “How We Define Genres?

  1. This is an interesting question because I also would class The Young Elites as fantasy, well from what I’ve heard of it. I still need to read it but I also feel that science-fiction is a sub genre under Fantasy.

Leave a Reply

