What’s The Story Saturday? #2

whatthestorysaturdays

This is a thing I have started running every Saturday to help get my creative juices in my brain running. You are welcome to do it too!

Rules:

Pick a book cover (preferably one that you don’t know the plot about at all).
Guess what the story is e.g. who’s our mc; female? male? what genre is it? what happens?.
[Optional >] After that actually read up about the synopsis and comment on whether you think yours is better xD

Week 2’s Pick Is:

whatthestorysaturday1

My Story: A teenage boy. Possibly homosexual. He runs away from home to a cabin in the woods that his parents used to bring him to every summer. It begins with him coming to this cabin and he looks around and seems various objects that. The book is then split into different chapters named after the things he find in the cabin. Turns out his father was abusive towards him because… he’s gay?, his mother is blocking the fact it’s happening and is having an affair, planning to leave him with his father. Half way through a girl and boy turn up at the cabin: his best friends, who help clean his new bruises and cuts that he got from his father that night. They talk about what he should do, where he can go. He feels there is no way out but the best friends are determined to think this through. At one point the girl goes and drives out to get food and supplies leaving the two boys to talk; a relationship and a kiss between them begins. The best friend boy says ‘I like you, regardless of what sex organs you have. I don’t think by what gender someone is as to whether I’m allowed to like them or not. If I like you, I want you. That’s all that matters.’ Two days pass. It ends with his mother turning up at the door. She had come to her senses when he’d run off and realised she didn’t want to lose him. She’d called the police and now the father was being held at the house, waiting for the son to come home as a witness and proof of the abuse so he can be arrested.

The Actual Synopsis: Will Caynes never has been good with girls. At seventeen, he’s still waiting for his first kiss. He’s certainly not expecting it to happen in a drunken make-out session with his best friend, Angus. But it does and now Will’s conflicted—he knows he likes girls, but he didn’t exactly hate kissing a guy. Then Will meets Brandy, a cute and easy-to-talk-to sophomore. He’s totally into her too—which proves, for sure, that he’s not gay. So why does he keep hooking up with Angus on the sly?
Will knows he can’t keep seeing both of them, but besides his new job in a diner, being with Brandy and Angus are the best parts of his whole messed-up life. His divorced parents just complicate everything. His father, after many half-baked business ventures and endless house renovations, has started drinking again. And his mom is no help—unless loading him up with a bunch of stuff he doesn’t need plus sticking him with his twin half-sisters counts as parenting. He’s been bouncing between both of them for years, and neither one feels like home.
Deciding who to love, who to choose, where to live. Whichever way Will goes, someone will get hurt. Himself, probably the most.

After Thoughts: I got the teenage boy part right except my character was about 15. I also got the ‘never kissed anyone before’ (< I didn’t put this in my thing but I did suspect my character had never kissed or been in a relationship before). HA! I also got the best friends part right! And the suspected homosexuality! And one of the friends not saying they’re gay [although my character was more like a ‘I don’t care which way I swing’]. Both stories have flawed shitty parents. I did pretty swell don’t you think! Only major difference is that my story was more abuse and family themed and the actual book is romance themed.

Same Time, Next Week!

Leave a Reply

