Top Ten Tuesday #37

Image

This Week’s Theme: Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

Is everybody ready? I am expecting to bash a lot of YA novels… but I will try hard to find some other books in different genres.

1. Everyone seems to love this book and Amy but I’ve never seen her in anything (even Parks & Rec cos it just doesn’t air here in the UK nor is it on netflix) and I just feel that if everyone loves her, no point me reading it cos if I do end up not liking her, bitches are gunna be on my ass xD also, I’m not really a non-ficiton reader anyway. Hate this cover also.

Yes Please

2. Another book everyone raves about and while I was interested in it at first, I discovered the reveal (of what she is) and I really don’t like those types of creatures and have no interest in them and so will never read this book.

The Girl with All the Gifts

3. Didn’t like the first book (seriously bored the crap out of me from the point onwards where she woke up in his house) and I’ve not heard any positives about this book.

The Infinite Sea (The Fifth Wave #2)

4. Beautiful cover but YA generics all over this book.

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

5. Was never interested in it and when I finally watched a video (full of spoilers) I still felt I wouldn’t be missing anything from reading this. I just don’t do well with hyped books clearly xD

We Were Liars

6. It’s YA, romance, about cancer, predictable ending and (most likely) over hyped = all the things I hate to read.

The Fault in Our Stars

7. When everyone was going on about how amazing this book was, I went on wiki and read the entire plot: It’s not anything amazing. But I assume the way it was written made it amazing? Still, no interest in reading it.

Gone Girl

8. I love my classics, I really do, but because I had to read the prequel to this (Wide Sargasso Sea) and HATED it so much,  I lost all interest in reading this book. Yes it’s by a Bronte and the prequel is by someone still alive now but meh. Also, I don’t seem to do well with classic books written by women as they tend to be about women, marriage, appearance, money and high society (Pride and Prejudice I like but it’s still a pile of shit at the end of the day.)

Jane Eyre

9. YA, overhyped, romance, know the ending, heard nothing but bad reviews on the last book, not worth my time.

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

10. Romance. That’s the main point of this book! And it’s just not for me. Also the episode they released was SO bad. And wasn’t that ONE episode the entirety of book one? That’s bad if ONE episode (It wasn’t even an hour long!) can show a whole 300page+ book worth of info.

Delirium (Delirium, #1)

What’s on your list? Let me know in the comments below! Agree with mine?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #37

  1. I’ll probably read Jane Eyre or Gone Girl, because the movie was really good and eventually I would want to check out the book. I might have been hyped into reading Divergent (awesome English) had I not been completely spoiled the ending of Allegiant in the first place. Now it remains purely in the hypothetical and I’m like “meh”. But yes, most books here apply to me for pretty similar reasons!

  2. Totally with you regarding Divergent and Delirium. I’m not a big fan of over-hyped books myself, so I would probably put all the over-hyped books you mentioned in my post as well. But I’ve already wrote it 😉 nice list 😀

  3. Gone Girl made my list too. I really loved Red Queen though, and didn’t think I would at all because of the hype, and that it sounded like just another dystopian YA. I’m so glad I gave it go though.

  4. Just looking over your list…. well I can’t really say that you are missing much if you don’t actually read them. I didn’t really like The Fault in Our Stars, The Red Queen, or We Were Liars, but I’m the black sheep for all of these so meh. There’s a lot of better stuff out there. But I did read The 5th Wave and I’ve heard from a lot of people that the sequel gets….. dumb? I kind of do want to get around to reading it (because I did enjoy the first book) but something tells me it won’t be any time soon. I did like Gone Girl though!

Leave a Reply

