A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

Quickie Review: 3.5 out of 5

I will say the positives first so no one kills me straight away xD it’s GoT so of course it was very interesting to read, it was great getting the extra information that isn’t shown in the TV show. While I knew the first book was pretty much exact to the first season, there were slight differentiations which I enjoyed reading! The writing is easy to read and it’s very easy to get absorbed into the story! This book is intricate with details, massive in history and epic in scope! The book definitely helped me understand things that had confused me in the tv show, and I started to notice theories and subtle hints about things. Also, the books added a lot of extras that a tv show cannot and the POV certainly help understand the characters more and allowed me know what they were thinking.

But… the writing I found was average. It wasn’t a Brandon Sanderson where the writing had that extra umph about it and it definitely wasn’t a Tolkien so it lost some marks there.

Unfortunately, most of the time I never felt the need to read it but I am going to put that completely down to Uni and RL being in the way and therefore stretching my reading time of this book into something crazy like a year and 4 months! Another unfortunate thing is that, it’s only thanks to the TV show that I knew who the hell was who. Honestly, if I had read this book first, I think I would’ve given up pretty soon because the cast and their backstories and relationships would’ve been just too vast for me to comprehend what and who was going on.

A solid book. Cannot wait to carry it on! When that will be… no idea!

Like I said: Epic in scale, but something things did make it stop being so epic in execution.

One thought on “A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin

  1. Honestly after reading Brandon Sanderson before other modern fantasies made me increase my expectations so much and then I get disappointed haha..but nothing will ever really compare to his worldbuilding for me

Leave a Reply

