What’s The Story Saturday? #8

whatthestorysaturdays

A meme-thing created by me. All are welcome to join!

Rules:

Pick a book cover (preferably one where you don’t know the plot).
Guess what the story e.g. who’s our mc; female? male? what genre is it? what happens?.
[Optional >] After that actually read up about the synopsis and comment on whether you think yours is better xD

This Week’s Cover:

whatthestorysaturday7

My Story: I’m thinking two things. A. Three kids find a trap door in their basement one day and decide to follow this ladder down, down, down, and it leads them into a magical world and a magical adventure. Most likely getting this jewel for one group of underground beings so they can defeat the bad group underground. I imagine these creatures have insect like parts to them but are overall human forms with dirty faces due to the mud. B. Nuclear explosion and three people survived in a bunker underground and it’s this suspense thing and them being trapped in this bunker with no knowledge of what’s going on outside and the whole premise is: do they dare risk opening the hatchet and finding out of their world, as they knew it, is destroyed. And when they do open the hachet and discover what’s happened (I’m assumed ruins and an army of another country has taken over) and thus the ‘fallout’ of the war begins.

The Actual Synopsis: In the summer of 1962, the possibility of nuclear war is all anyone talks about. But Scott’s dad is the only one in the neighborhood who actually prepares for the worst. As the neighbors scoff, he builds a bomb shelter to hold his family and stocks it with just enough supplies to keep the four of them alive for two critical weeks. In the middle of the night in late October, when the unthinkable happens, those same neighbors force their way into the shelter before Scott’s dad can shut the door. With not enough room, not enough food, and not enough air, life inside the shelter is filthy, physically draining, and emotionally fraught. But even worse is the question of what will — and won’t — remain when the door is opened again.

After Thoughts: So my second story was pretty spot on! Nuclear war/bombs: I got that. In a shelter underground: got that. Questioning whether to open the door or not: got that! Although I thought it’d take place in the near future and I had at least one teenage blonde girl as my character in it. I was getting a 5th Wave feel off it. So, once again, I was pretty spot on! Which, once again, means either authors are being too predictable or my creative juices are top notch! xD AND, I actually like my first story that I came up with for this cover, so I may pursue it in time! xD

What did you think the story behind the cover was? Have you read the book? What did you think of it?

3 thoughts on “What’s The Story Saturday? #8

Leave a Reply

